Emergency Alerts

◄ Back
August 21, 2018 10:08 AM

Flooding Information Updates

Middleton experienced historic flooding August 20th, which resulted in significant damage to major roadways, businesses, private homes and Public Lands. Please follow these updates as we continue to keep our citizens informed. Stay Safe!

Facebook Twitter Email

Latest Update:

November 15, 2018 11:35 AM

(608) 250-6025
Nov. 6, 2018 State Bar of Wisconsin


Madison, WI -- A toll-free legal hotline is available to victims of Wisconsin’s recently declared federal disaster area in Crawford, Dane, Juneau, La Crosse, Marquette, Monroe, Richland, Sauk and Vernon counties. Individuals who were impacted by the devastating floods and storms in August and September may call the hotline at 877-947-5291 if they are facing legal issues and are unable to afford a lawyer. Hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday-Friday. Questions may also be submitted online at wi.freelegalanswers.org.

The type of legal assistance available may include:

• Assistance with securing Federal Emergency Management Agency and other government benefits available to disaster survivors;
• Help with life, medical and property insurance claims;
• Assistance with home repair contracts and contractors;
• Replacement of wills and other important legal documents destroyed in the disaster;
• Help with consumer protection matters, remedies and procedures;
• Counseling on mortgage-foreclosure problems;
• Counseling on landlord-tenant problems.

The service allows callers to receive limited legal assistance from a volunteer lawyer, and is a partnership between the State Bar of Wisconsin, the State Bar’s Young Lawyers Division, the Federal Emergency Management Agency, Wisconsin Emergency Management and others.

On Oct. 18, 2018, Governor Scott Walker announced that a federal disaster declaration had been approved by President Donald J. Trump. Under the declaration, individuals, families and businesses in Crawford, Dane, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk and Vernon counties are now eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance. On Nov. 1, 2018, FEMA announced assistance had been extended to Marquette County.

Residents and businesses in federally declared counties can register with FEMA at DisasterAssistance.gov or 800-621-3362. The last day to register for FEMA assistance is Dec. 17, 2018.

Prior Updates

View All Updates
October 29, 2018 9:09 AM

Disaster Recovery Center Opens in Dane County
Madison, Wis. – A Disaster Recovery Center will open Monday, October 29 in Dane County to help renters, homeowners and businesses in Wisconsin affected by the severe storms and flooding of August 17 through September 14, 2018.
Location: 2413 Parmenter Street, Middleton, WI 53562
Hours: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday
At the Disaster Recovery Center, representatives from FEMA, U.S. Small Business Administration, Wisconsin Emergency Management and other State of Wisconsin agencies are available to explain disaster assistance programs, answer questions about written correspondence and provide literature about repairs and rebuilding to make homes more flood resistant.
Before visiting a recovery center, survivors should register for federal assistance one of the following ways:
 Online at DisasterAssistance.gov;
 Using the FEMA App; or
 Call 800-621-3362 (FEMA). Applicants who use 711 or Video Relay Service may also call 800-621-3362. People who use a TTY may call 800-462-7585. The toll-free numbers are open from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m., seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.
Anyone requiring a reasonable accommodation (ASL interpreting, Braille, Large print, etc.) may call
800-621-3362 to request assistance in advance or ask the recovery staff at the center for assistance.
Eight Wisconsin counties have been approved for individual assistance including Crawford,
Dane, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk and Vernon counties. Additional
recovery centers will be opening to support survivors in many of these counties.
The last day to register for FEMA assistance is December 17, 2018.
Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability,
English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA
toll-free at 800-621-3362 or TTY at 800-462-7585.
If you are Deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use TTY call 800-462-7585 to register. For those
who use 711 or Video Relay Service, you may call 800-621-3362. All disaster recovery centers are accessible and
equipped with equipment to accommodate disaster survivors who need disability-related communication access. If
you require a reasonable accommodations (ASL interpreting, Braille, Large print, etc.) while visiting a Disaster
Recovery Center, call 1-800-621-3362 (V/711/VRS) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY).
FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during and after a disaster.

October 25, 2018 12:13 PM

FEMA Teams Deploy to Assist with Registration
The FEMA Disaster Service Assistance Teams (DSA) will begin going door to door in flood/storm affected Dane County communities beginning 10/23/2018. The sole mission is to assist residents register with FEMA for disaster assistance. They will be begin in the Village of Mazomanie and move to other affected areas of Dane County. They will not get to every homeowner. Their purpose is to encourage homeowners to register with FEMA one of three ways:
Three ways to apply for FEMA funding:
1. Call FEMA at 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA)
2. Register online and click on “Enter your city and State or Zip Code to see if your area has been declared” and then chose apply ONLINE
3. When opened visit the FEMA Disaster Recovery Center. This location will be heavily advertised once it is established. The Disaster Recovery will be a location
where people can interact face to face with FEMA and other available resources.
Monitor media and the County website for more information.